Form of Government The Faulkner Act

New Jersey's Optional Municipal Charter Law (NJSA 40:369A-1 et seq.) popularly known as the Faulkner Act, became law on June 8, 1950, Chapter 210 of the Laws of 1950. By January 1, 1994, one hundred and twenty four of New Jersey's 567 Municipalities had adopted a form of government under one of the Faulkner Act's four optional as plans: mayor-council, council-manager, small municipaliity and mayor-council administrator. According to the 1990 United States Census, these 124 Faulkner Act communities have a combined population of 3,717,940. This represents 48.10% of New Jersey's population.